In and Out

I always scoffed at people who took their babies outside (like, to a store, outside) before they were a month old.  I can blame much of this on my mother, who is a firm, and very vocal, believer that you should wait at least a month before you take your baby to a public place.  Blah blah blah, germs.  I admit it, too, though.  Seeing a week-old baby being hauled around in a car seat in CVS would prompt thoughts of “Put that baby back in!!”  In, as in, in the womb… or in the house.  In nonetheless.  Anywhere but out.

Oh but then I saw the light.  Folks, I love a little television, but my brain starts to rot after so many home improvement or cooking shows.  I love you, HGTV, but it’s not you, it’s me.  I’d read a book, but… um, I don’t read.  I CAN read, I just choose not to.  People leave their house with their week-old baby to save themselves from the Food Network.  Duh.

We were one of those people on Monday, when we sent out for a jaunt to the local open-air shopping center, where we leisurely strolled up and down the shops, stopping in for lunch (eaten at a picnic table outside), as well as in a few stores.  RR slept the whole time, except for a handful of open-eyed moments.  No hollerin’, and no demands for lunch (although we had come prepared).  People peeped at her under the sun shade, and I realized that, much like my pregnant belly was public property, apparently my baby is, too.  The weather was cooler than it has been, and we strolled under the awning when it started to rain.  Overall, a much preferred way to spend a Monday, compared to being glazed over by television waves.

So, sorry folks, for spending all of these years judging you and your day-old babies when I’ve seen you out and about.  If you’re like us, you’re trying to get your baby to tolerate her car seat, which she hates, since you plan on leaving the house more frequently than never.  You’re also trying to resemble a contributing member of society, by… oh, putting on a bra, a t-shirt without holes, and shorts that don’t belong at the gym.  Fancy, right?  My bad, folks… my bad.

Posted on July 14, 2010, in controvesy!, everyday, triumphs. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. People thought I was INSANE to take n out so much so early, but man, those were the easy days. I could take her anywhere, ANYWHERE, and she was fine. (except the car, she hated that, too, and so I set about trying to acclimate her to it. HAHAHAHA.) But it was so SO necessary for my sanity.

  2. We took Ryan out too. You need to save yourself from all the repeat TV shows and the Food Network too! We sat around for the first few days (and then it was Christmas so everything was closed) so we sat around for a few more… lol. We were so happy to start going on a few outtings with him. Back then we could take him anymore, we even went out to dinner with him. –we needed to get out!! You’re doing the right thing. Save yourselves & babies love fresh air.

  3. Funny, that lesson came up a lot at the birth and during the first year: it’s much easier to judge before the kids. Now I’m a lot more judicious with my tsks.

  4. I just laugh, because when I was on maternity leave (both times!), I think I went to Target 3-4 times a week, just to wander and get out of the house. Not a very cost effective diversion, but it did preserve my sanity somewhat!
    I use the ‘I’m building up their immune system’ defense.

  5. I think as long as you aren’t taking your newborn into a bar (yes, I’ve seen it happen), you’re golden. Personally.

  6. Our first outing was a Japanese restaurant and he slept the whole time. I suspect R will, too, no matter where you go. Seriously, he’s starting to be less portable now. Go out while you can!

  7. I think you should do whatever the hell you want to do. It’s your kid and your sanity. 🙂

Leave a Reply

