You Are My Sunshine

When my mom had her stoke right at the new year, I spent a lot of time alone with her in the ICU, sitting by her bedside, holding her bruised and lifeless hand in mine.  To pass the time hour after hour, day after day, I found peace in my solitude by singing quietly under my breath the only song I could remember the words to: “You Are My Sunshine.”  I sang the only verses I knew over and over and over.  I sang it for me, my mom, my wife, and RR.    I felt alone, scared, and completely helpless.

 

Today, I’m singing it quietly in my head for these nice folks and their family.

You Are My Sunshine, my only sunshine.
You make me happy when skies are grey.
You’ll never know, dear, how much I love you.
Please don’t take my sunshine away.

The other nite, dear, as I lay sleeping
I dreamed I held you in my arms.
When I awoke, dear, I was mistaken
And I hung my head and cried.

Posted on March 22, 2011, in good grief. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. This has been my song of comfort for a long, long time, and I sang it over and over again after our pregnancy loss. I’ll be singing it with you today.

Leave a Reply

