Fernoceros

This morning, I spent ten minutes in a sleepy just-woken-up fog, deciphering RR’s code language referring to two certain Kipper episodes.

“Mama, I want the one with the fernoceros.  Or the one with the white pig.”  She says.

Now, before I go any further, let’s all have a giant AWWWW for “fernoceros” … her word for rhinoceros.  /awww

I was very tired.  I sat on the ottoman mushing the PS3 buttons, navigating my way through the Kids Netflix.  She blissfully sat in the giant armchair, cozied up with a pillow behind her back, covered in a blanket, sipping on a cup of milk.

I’m usually very good at this game.  But fernoceros?  (TWO fernoceroses, she clarifies.)  White pig?  Even if it wasn’t before 7am, I would have been stumped.

She’s learned how to say, “It’s working on it!”  This is what we say to her when we’re trying to find a song, when the computer is loading, when one mama is anxiously whispering to the other, “Do YOU know what she’s talking about?”

Ten minutes of foggy hunting and fast-forwarding through the one’s she’s seen lately.  Nope, not the eyeball.  Not the green dragon, either.  She’d, every minute or so, politely and patiently say, in between sips, “Not that one.”

But then I found one.  Which led me to the other one.  Bomb diffused.  Phew.

For those of you playing along at home, the TWO fernoceroses episode was referring to the one with the two pink aliens.  The white pig actually meant a ghost.  DUH.

Parents should get a fucking prize for sorting this stuff out.  Seriously – the brain cells I’m using to figure shit like this out (and remember it for later) are totally bummed that they’re not doing complex math equations.

Posted on August 9, 2013, in everyday. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I hear ya! I spent several days trying to figure out what a peridon was. Some sort of dinosaur? A jewel? No, it was Prairie Dawn from Sesame Street. Obviously.

  2. This is great! I love that word fernoceros! What’s this show about? I’ve never seen that on the Netflix Kid’s channel. Of course, we are only less than 2, but I like to come up with new things for Punky to watch.

  3. Awwww.
    Mine always talked about the 88 store. For the life of me, I had no idea what she was talking about. The 88 store.
    Pulled into the parking lot of Integral Yoga one day and she pointed at the old school grocery store paper signs with the specials on the window, “look mommy, it’s the 88 store!”. None of the signs actually had the number 88 on them, but hey, the mystery of the 88 store was solved.

Leave a Reply

