Day 9

Whole30: Day 9

There’s something very primal about eating an avocado right out of the shell.  I suppose it’s less primal if you use a fork?  Regardless, it was a delicious accompaniment to today’s lunch.  In the container is a Chicken Salad with Roasted Bell Peppers and Toasted Almonds recipe that my wife adapted to make Whole30 compliant.  It was so good that last night, I nearly walked out of the kitchen with the bowl after she asked what I thought about it.

Monday’s are hard.  It’s even harder when you’re sitting at a two hour meeting next to a lady delicately and slowly eating a brownie with her fingertips.  I consoled myself with my black coffee.  Of course, this was after stealing the garnishes (grapes and fanned-out-strawberries) which were the only approved items on the catering table.  Dude, seriously – 120 people at a meeting, and you’re hopping them up with brownies and coffee, and THEN hoping they sit through your presentation?  That’s wrong even before my paleo days.

Last night, we had baked “blackened” (read, seasoned) chicken with spinach, mango, and avocado.  And tonight we’re having pot roast!  Mmm.

Yesterday after work was, surprisingly, the first evening where I really missed having something alcoholic to drink after work.  It’s been pretty easy so far, mostly because the lack of sugar has taken front and center in its obnoxiousness.  I thought about having a cup of decaf coffee after dinner every night, but then decided against that, since that’s just a bourbon replacement, really.  Cause who am I kidding?  I guess that’s what makes the Whole30 different than just “eating paleo” – it’s trying (and mostly working) to reset my brain to not WANT something the minute I take my last bite of dinner.

This was an interesting article wherein the author talks about fasting after dinner, as a way to slow down your metabolism and get it ready for bed as well.  I’ve been trying to keep this in mind.  As well as, when eating in general, eating not only Whole30 foods, but eating them in concert with what my day looks like; eating more if I go to the gym versus eating less if I’m not.  When, at night, my body is all, “Dude, where’s more food?!” I can be like, “Shut the fuck up.  What did you do today?  Sit at your desk for eight hours?  Oh, that must have been SO HARD for you.”

What?  You don’t have conversations like that with your body?  Hmm.

Posted on February 26, 2013, in church of paleo, whole30. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Hmmm. I do the same thing with the after-dinner bourbon (or failing that, piece of chocolate, etc…) It seems to be the ritual I want more than the actual item I’m consuming – it tangibly represents permission to relax, a symbol that I am “done” for the day, something like that. I think realistically I need to respect my brain’s desire for ritual, but I’m not sure how to satisfy that need without the booze or sugar.

  2. First of all, I’m not on paleo and watching some woman slowly & delicately eating a brownie would have driven me nuts.

    I totally have conversations with my body. Mostly where I ask can it please not hurt today or where I ask it if I could possibly eat (something I like but it doesn’t anymore, fill in the blank, there seems to be a growing list) and it not completely revolt. Then there are the arguments where I want to be the one in charge, not my body.

    I have a rich inner world, clearly.

Leave a Reply

