Cut the Fat

After over a year of excuses of not going to the gym (number #1: don’t jostle the zygote), I have every intention (here at 9am) of going to the gym today (at work, around noonish) like I used to do oh so many moons ago.  I’m prepared.  Or, rather, I have my gym bag packed and ready.  OK, fine, I confess.  It’s been gathering dust in the corner of my office for about a week, but today (TODAY!) I am committed.

I totally understand where moms come from who say, “There isn’t enough time” to go to the gym.  Sure, there’s actually enough time, but it’s spending that “enough time” actually working out, and not, say, frequenting the Dunkin Donuts/Baskin Robbins that just opened up WITHING WALKING DISTANCE of your office.  Or sleeping.  Or mustering up some amount of energy left over from waking up at 2am and then again at 6am.  Or underestimating how long it takes to properly and thoroughly chat about football with your co-worker.  Or returning those work emails so that they don’t pile up.  Or rummaging through an entire plastic pumpkin’s worth of tootsie rolls.  Or browsing online for Christmas presents.  Or larger-sized pants.  There’s enough time – it’s just a matter of sacrificing other, more desirable and important, options.  It’s hard.  And easy to say – there’s not enough time.

I didn’t gain a ton of weight during my pregnancy, but the extra padding that has stuck around, though not weighing as much, is sitting in a variety of unpleasant and unflattering locations.  But the development of recent pictures has prompted my return to the land of the treadmills.  Years ago, I saw a nutritionist on a regular basis, and even met with a personal trainer – so I am equipped with the knowledge of what I need to do, it’s just a matter of making some sacrifices and moving my ass.  The dude who also broke into my car a couple of weeks ago and stole my first generation iPod has even motivated me – you know, to buy a new iPod.  Well, and lock my car.

We’ll see if I can commit, or if I’m destined to a life of finding more reasons to walk to that sour cream donut than to the gym.

Posted on November 3, 2010, in everyday. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Ah, I’m right there with you… I have a gym at my office and i just had my doctor fill out the authorization form yesterday… let’s see if I use it….

  2. We’ve thought about paying a nutrionist to draw up a meal plan or at least recommendations for us. What did s/he recommend you do?

    • She was really helpful, but mostly initially identifying and correcting my obvious nutritious missteps. So learning about portion control, eating this (soy latte) instead of that (grande mocha), snacking instead of huge meals, etc. Oh, and writing everything you eat down/keeping a food diary. That was probably the most useful tool – creating accountability. If you have to write down “sour cream donut” or “10 hershey’s kisses” every time you partake, you eventually either stop eating those things (for shame!), or, if you’re not losing weight, you can identify why.

  3. Gah, the places the pregnancy moosh finds to attatch itself to! I’m back to my pre-pregnancy weight but I have this round pot belly with a layer of flabby skin on top that just will not go away. The question now is, make peace with it or make time to try to get rid of it. With twins, it looks like I may be making peace with it… or doing sit ups after the 3am feed. shudder.

  4. For what it’s worth, Tootsie Rolls are fat free. 🙂

Leave a Reply

