The Big Reveal

Telling everyone we know about the pregnancy has been a tiring five-day PR roll-out.  Well, it started far more than five days ago,as you know, when we initially told close friends and family.  Those folks kept their trap shut as long as they could (varying times per person) and eventually told other people.  You know… my mom told that lady at church; her mom told a few neighbors.  But for the masses, this baby has been kept under lock and key.

Oh but now – now everyone knows.  A timeline for you, if you will:

Friday:  Sonogram reveals averagey average baby.  I tell one co-worker and my boss.
Saturday:  Not so much telling, but an exhausting day spent registering (a whole other post).
Sunday:  Holiday newsletter was emailed to friends and family (otherwise known as, people who would have been grouchy to find out news of this caliber on Facebook).
Monday:  Morning meeting with HR, afternoon spent telling boss’ boss and other co-workers.
Tuesday:  A timed attack on Facebook – a one-two punch of her status update, followed by my update (and obligatory posting of ultrasound picture as my profile picture).  Dozens of status “like’s”, Congratulations, Wow’s, and one HOLY SHIT! later, everyone from former and current co-workers, and high school and college friends have been dutifully notified.

Phew.

On another note, the past few nights have been rough sleep-wise, due to some combination of nausea, having to pee every hour, and a lot of gurgling activity inside which is most likely the result of the hammering and scaffolding that is being erected in my uterus to support what is yet to come.  I swear, at some point I could smell sawdust.  My belly is getting weirdly hard, which is also creepy exciting.

Posted on December 15, 2009, in ch-ch-changes, reactions, second trimester. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Ha! Hope construction proceeds smoothly.
    Sorry you’re having trouble sleeping–I’m with you, though I was really hoping that when you hit 12 weeks your nausea would stop so I would have something to look forward to. 😉

    • I just wish they’d work while I’m at work… or watching Jeopardy. Totally reasonable times. Maybe my body can only afford night workers.
      And I think I’m that small percentage of people they are referring to when they say “nausea may linger into months four or even five.” Sigh. Better luck for you, I certainly hope!

Leave a Reply

