Oh the things we do

Dear little alien growing inside of me:  Last night, your mother and I choked down tomato soup and grilled cheese sandwiches.  This was our warmer alternative to the planned salad topped with chicken (since it was so rainy and cold outside), and the healthier alternative to Taco Bell (I cannot give in to your double-decker taco supreme demands any longer!).  We also did it to save the money we will need to fund your needs, as mint.com has informed us that we spend 495% of our income on some sort of food (fine, I’m exaggerating).  Today for lunch, I am eating last night’s planned salad topped with chicken, when all I really want is a pulled pork sandwich topped with coleslaw and a side of fries from the lunch joint down the street.  Pulled PorkI wanted that last night, too.  See – there, that’s what it looks like.  Mmm.  However, tonight, we will have some kind of soy chick patty parmigiana.  Perhaps we will treat ourselves tomorrow to a lunch or dinner made and served by people other than ourselves.  But seriously, no more tacos.  Love, your starving and suddenly wealthy mothers.

Posted on December 3, 2009, in everyday. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. We have that problem with spending $ on food, too. Way too much eating out. And then we mean to eat at home, so we spend $ on groceries… and eat out anyway, and then lose twice the money. whooo!

    Er, which is to say – feel ya on that.

  2. Hey! Thanks so much for your comment on my blog, and for letting me know about yours! I’ll be happily reading along from now on and will put you on my blogroll. Congrats on your pregnancy–sounds like I’m just a couple of weeks behind you. Yay for pregger buddies!

Leave a Reply

